Demons and Mythical Creatures

April 2012

 

Cahn AG  

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT) English   
  Jean-David Cahn AG
Malzgasse 23
4052 Basle

 Contact

Warning: getimagesize(catalogues/12-04/images_web/9666-1.jpg) [function.getimagesize.php]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/marrei31/www/neu.cahn.ch/exhibitions/show_item_printpage.php on line 208
A Gorgoneion


A Gorgoneion


Gorgoneion with bared teeth and slanting, almond-shaped eyes which were originally inlaid with ivory (traces preserved). Voluminous, hammered boss-shaped curls with finely incised details frame the forehead. A long, wavy strand of hair behind the preserved ear. Three ornamental furrows above the sharply offset eyebrows. The nose is carefully modelled with pronounced naso-labial folds. Part of the proper right side of the face missing. Fragment of a horse's head-piece. The missing lower part probably included the Gorgon's lolling tongue and the part of the head-piece which covered the horse's nose.

Width: 11 cm. Bronze.
Western Greek, Late Archaic Period, ca. 530 B.C.

Provenance: Coll. Jacques Schotte (1928-2007), Belgium, since 1950.

Cf. a similar albeit a century older bronze relief of a Gorgo from the chamber tomb Tomba 2 di loc. San Paolo near Cerveteri, Cerveteri, Museo Nazionale, inv. no. 110898, LIMC Suppl. (2009) add.2 s.v. Gorgo, Gorgones (I. Krauskopf). It also has the distinctly off-set brows, lids and lips. The white inlay in the eyes is almost entirely preserved and gives an impression of the effect which our relief would have had on the beholder.

Offer: CHF 12'800

 Contact
Copyright © 2012 Cahn AG (2014-04-25)

Dämonen und Mischwesen

April 2012

 

Cahn AG  

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT) English   
  Jean-David Cahn AG
Malzgasse 23
4052 Basel

 Kontakt

Warning: getimagesize(catalogues/12-04/images_web/9666-1.jpg) [function.getimagesize.php]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/marrei31/www/neu.cahn.ch/exhibitions/show_item_printpage.php on line 208
Gorgonenhaupt


Gorgonenhaupt


Gefletschte Zähne und schräge Mandelaugen, welche ursprünglich mit Elfenbein eingelegt waren, Reste erhalten. Fein zisellierte und voluminös getriebene Buckellöckchen rahmen die Stirn; lange, gewellte Haarlocke hinter dem erhaltenen Ohr. Über den scharfgratig abgesetzten Brauen drei ornamentale Stirnfalten. Nase fein ausgearbeitet mit betonten Nasolabialfalten. Teile der rechten Gesichtshälfte fehlen. Der untere Teil des Fragments wäre wohl mit der heraushängenden Zunge der Gorgo, sowie dem Nasenteil des Prometopidions zu ergänzen. Fragment einer Pferdestirnplatte.

Breite: 11 cm. Bronze.
Grossgriechisch, Spätarchaisch, ca. 530 v.C.

Provenienz: Ehem. Slg. Jacques Schotte (1928-2007), Belgien, seit 1950.

Vgl. ein sehr ähnliches, aber ca. 100 Jahre früheres Bronzerelief einer Gorgo aus dem Kammergrab Tomba 2 di loc. San Paolo bei Cerveteri, Cerveteri, Museo Nazionale, Inv.-Nr. 110898, LIMC Suppl. (2009) add.2 s.v. Gorgo, Gorgones (I. Krauskopf). Auch dort die markant abgehobenen, wulstartigen Brauen, Lider und Mundränder. Die dort noch fast vollständig erhaltene, weisse Einlage der Augen, lässt die Wirkung erahnen, die das vorliegende Relief auf den Betrachter gehabt haben muss.

Angebotspreis: CHF 12'800

 Kontakt
Copyright © 2012 Cahn AG (2014-04-21)